Wherever #2

Roisin Murphy’s solo debut, Ruby Blue, includes the song Rama lama (bang bang)

…But the Family Stand’s I Thought we Had is hardly the first piece of music I’ve found from watching So You Think You Can Dance. I was blown away by another little ditty used in one of the dance numbers last season – not least because the dance itself was captivating.

The song was called Rama Lama (Bang Bang) by Roisin Murphy – an Irish singer late of the musical act Moloko, whom you might remember from their club hit Sing it Back. Anyway, I forget where I read it at the time, but it seems much of the album that this track comes from – Ruby Blue – was improvised in studio. Not, I think, the melodies so much – but the producer’s idea was to create the music using a whole host of everyday objects.

Or maybe that’s all bollocks. Either way, the album is great, and this song is still one of my faves.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.