I saw this question when it was a QotD a week or two ago – "What's your favorite Christmas Song?" – but for the life of me I couldn't figure out the answer. There are so many great Christmas songs and carols, and a ton of wonderful classical music written for  Christmas church services (Bach's Christmas Oratorio comes to mind), but no single song stood out to me. So I let it go.

And then this week, I woke up with a song in my head – a song I hadn't heard in a while. This often happens to me by the way. My brain seems to dig around for old music while I'm dreaming.

Anyway, it was a Christmas song – of sorts – and I realized that I look forward to hearing it every year. It's a sad Christmas song – It's not all "Joy to the world!" and "Unto us a Saviour is Born!" – but maybe that's why it stands out.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

