My Grandmother – who's sharp as a tack by the way – is slowing down. Granted she's 88 and just had hip surgery, but still. She's been slowing for a while. She can't walk as fast as she once did, but she's also lost flexibility. She can't reach as high as she used to. She can't take the stairs anymore. And this has got me thinking: someday, I'm gonna get old too (knock wood). And I'm starting at a disadvantage.

I've always been pretty limited in terms of flexibility. As a teenager, I couldn't touch my toes without bending my knees. It's pretty bad. I'm like a frickin' Ken doll – my head swivels and my legs and arms swing, but there it ends.

I'm not out of shape, mind you. I do loads of group fitness classes. It's just a flexibility issue. Thankfully, a couple of years ago, Melvin pushed me to start doing basic stretching after every class. And it really has helped. I can now touch my toes without bending my knees – at least once I'm warmed up.

But I figured there's only so much progress I can make. I'm not getting any younger.

I had made my peace with that, but last week I got a call from my sister that started to change my way of thinking. She has made some serious lifestyle changes this year and, through diet and exercise, has lost nearly 40 Lbs. Yay! We chatted a bit about our gym regimens, and it turns out she's been doing a lot of yoga. She's found it has made a huge difference in her flexibility. I believe her exact words were "I was hopeless when I started, but now I'm amazed at some of the positions I'm able to get into."

Stretchy exercise – yoga, Tai Chi, Pilates – has never been my bag. I always found it uncomfortable to hold stretches for a long period. Oh, I don't know why… maybe because I'm inflexible? But there it is.

But my sister got me thinking that it might be possible to gain more flexibility than I've managed from the simple stretching after cardio classes. And my own observations of my grandmother got me thinking that now is the time to do it – before I lose what little I have. Maybe it can help me stave off father time.

So on Tuesday, after step class, I showed up for BodyFlow – a kind of all-inclusive stretchy class featuring a little Tai Chi, a little Yoga, and a little Pilates; a good mix. And maybe it was because I was warmed up from Step, or maybe it was the stretching I've been doing after classes, but for whatever reason, I actually enjoyed it. It felt really good.

So I'm hereby committing to do this one day a week for now. And Melvin is going to join me for it. And if I see substantial improvement in my flexibility, maybe I'll add another stretchy class some time soon. Can't hurt.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses »

  1. margotinto says:

    You know, BodyFlow classes are a great place to pick up chicks.

  2. margotinto says:

    Just kidding. Congrats on taking this on, but is commiting to self-betterment the new black or something? And you know I'm going to suggest that you take a REAL yoga class, but BodyFlow is good for people who don't want to deal with all the hokey-pokey stuff like breathing in the universe's energy.

  3. I might get to yoga some day, but for now, it's more about flexibility than spirituality – and bodyflow will do nicely.And how did you know it's a good place to pick up chicks? I sense an upcoming post form you.

  4. margotinto says:

    No first hand experience, just noticed that the guys who were regulars in the class seemed to get chatted up all the time. You guys might want to put your mats really close together, so that any cruising chicks get the message.
    But someday I'll tell you the story of the yoga instructor at Good Life who was wholely inappropriate when he was "readjusting" my positions. I'm still a little uncomfortable with the story, and I definitely won't blog about it.

Leave a Reply

