Over these past few weeks, I've been intensely busy at work writing the organizational Annual Report. It's a pretty major undertaking as it pulls the major highlights from last year and ties them all together into one long 5-page narrative that explains what we do, how we work, and how successful we've been. And I'm not gonna lie, there's a little bullshit involved.

In any case, the main point here is that my days have largely been taken up with very focused writing. It's the reason that I've been so sporadic with my blog posts – not because I'm busy (because I'm always busy) but because I spend my days writing.

I enjoy blogging, and find it's a great way to relax and have fun with language – with words. I've always enjoyed writing, but since I finished school, I more or less stopped creative writing… at least until I discovered blogging. It's a creative outlet for me.

But it's hard to use writing to relax after you've just spent 8 hours in front of a computer screen racking your brain about new ways to say how fantastic the organization is. At times like that, creative writing just becomes an added stress – and so I don't do it. Instead, I slump down on the couch and veg to some telly; blog be damned!

On Friday, I finished the first draft of the Annual Report (pretty happy with it too!). That's the worst of the job. So I think the posts will start coming a little closer together now. Of course, So You Think You Can Dance, and Canadian Idol are both starting up again, so maybe the couch-telly combo will win out. But I can always do a little creative writing on my lunch break.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

