I always have a song running through my head. Always. Next time you see me, just ask and I'll be happy to tell you what it is. Thankfully, the playlist is pretty dynamic. My internal deejay does a good job of keeping it interesting – switching it up pretty frequently.

Still, there are days when it's just one song over and over and over. Generally that's a result of having heard a great new song, and on those days I'm usually quite pleased to have the earworm. It keeps me smiling.

But on occasion, I do get a nasty piece of music in my head — a tune I truly dislike and just will not go away. This happened last weekend, and I realize by writing about it that the song is already back in my head. Yargh.

We went out dancing on Friday night and the deejay was horrible. She wasn't mixing well at all and she just kept playing track after track of bad music. Then came the coup de grâce: Tainted Love by Soft Cell. It burrowed deep and nested in my brain all day Saturday. It was only after intense alcohol therapy on Saturday evening that I was finally able to put an end to the cursed thing – killing a few brain cells in the process, I'm sure. I don't mind this approach to killing earworms, but my liver might not like it – so I do need to find a different method.

Thankfully, Radiolab offered me some hope. In today's podcast, they asked people to phone in suggestions about how to get rid of these unwanted attacks – whether it be passing the earworm to someone else,  replacing it with a better song, or simply listening to a recording of it. Check out their blog and listen to this short (10 min) piece on earworms while I struggle to get Tainted Love out of my head…again.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 responses »

  1. Lex says:

    Once you ran to it, now you run from it.

  2. Aw. You're evil.I'm actually very prone to having Dolly Parton's 9 to 5 stuck in my head for some reason.

  3. Thats funny you say that, because every time I hear that song I think of you and spending the summer's in Ottawa…..not sure why. Funny

  4. Rinagirl says:

    oh great! now i have 'Hey Macarena' stuck in my head. Time to crank up the radio!! I just had to read the comments….!!!

  5. Yeah, my sister is evil like that.

  6. I don't think evil is the right word…..Im just trying to pay you back for the dumb 9 to 5 song you stuck in my brain!

Leave a Reply

