What movies do you have memorized? Bonus points for sharing your favorite quote.
Submitted by Andymatic.

The Sound of Music.

Obviously there are others – Star Wars, The Princess Bride – but I've seen the sound of music so often I can speak the script right along with the actors – same inflection and everything. The script even leaks into my everyday speech now and then. On numerous occasions, for instance, I've played with some variation on "…at least not the Austria I know." It's a very versatile movie, and almost everyone I know has seen it and catches the references.

It's been a while since I've watched it though. Maybe it's time to watch it again. Then again, maybe not. I'm hoping to go see the new production of TSOM that's being mounted in Toronto this fall.

Which brings me to another point.

This summer, the CBC is airing a show called "How do you Solve a Problem Like Maria?" to cast the lead role for that new stage production. The show is essentially Canadian Idol, but with Broadway-hopefuls instead of pop-star-wannabes. And I had really high hopes for the show because I love musicals. I think show tunes are just fun. The bees knees. So I was really looking forward to a singing competition that features some of the best Broadway ditties.

Well, didn't they shoot themselves in the foot? Turns out the TV show producers choose songs for the girls, and they keep having them perform pop music. It's dreadful. Pop music is fine – when it's sung by pop singers. But when Broadway singers sing pop songs, it's completely over-the-top and laughable. They over-enunciate every word and belt out the big notes as loud as they can. Gotta show off, dontcha know?

Check this version of Girls Just wanna have Fun to see what I mean.

bleagh! What possible relevance does this have to whether she can sing the role of Maria? Why can't they just sing show tunes? Isn't that what they're auditioning for?!

Julie Andrews must be spinning in her grave. And me? I'm turning off the TV.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 responses »

  1. So yea- Im with you on the Sound of Music…..EVERY WORD…such a great flick. My other movies that I have totally memorized are Grease, Moulin Rouge and Dazed & Confused.

  2. Absolutely – We'll go see Mamma Mia. We were also thinking that the kids might want to see WALL-E when you're here.

  3. Cath says:

    The Sound of Music – great movie, one of my favourites. You've memorised The Princess Bride? I'd better watch it again. Saw it once, didn't "get" it. Read the book, "got" it a little, but not much. I feel like I missed something.

  4. Princess Bride is one of the most quotable films ever. I've never met anyone whose seen it but didn't love it. I thought it was one of those universally loved films.Script-wise there's so much wonderfully dense wordplay – a lot of quickfire back and forth. I love that type of humour – it gives you very little time to laugh at one joke before moving on to the next. It's kind of like a Marx Brothers movie that way.I hope you give it another chance, Cath.

  5. ROUS's? Rodent's of unusual size? I don't think they exist…..

  6. "Inconceivable!""You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."

  7. "Have fun storming the castle!"….I think I use that at least once a month

Leave a Reply

