Has the whole world has gone topsy turvy? Not only did we finally cave and sign up for facebook (and if I haven't asked you to be a friend yet, be patient – these things take time) but we also got an invitation to my uncle's place for dinner. These are signs of the apocalypse. IT'S IN REVELATIONS, PEOPLE!

Flee!

Okay, so if you don't have the back story, this might seem a bit of a trifle, so let me 'splain. No, that would take too long. Let me sum up. (See?! Every day with the Princess Bride!):
We had a falling out, you see. My Uncle and I used to be pretty close – not chummychummy, but we worked together for 4 years and were on very good terms. That was until I fucked up his payroll and he called me up in a rage to tell me in no uncertain terms that I was dead to him. (that's probably a bit of an overstatement, but that's how I remember it!) That was 10 years ago. He made it clear that we were only going to talk when we had to. So I kept my end of the bargain and steered clear. Aside from unavoidable family functions, we haven't talked since.

If you know me, you know I'm a pretty easy-going guy. This rancor between us wasn't the end of the world – we were never going to be best friends because he's somewhat conservative (read: racist and homophobic) and I'm a gay man dating an Asian – but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't a big stress having this tension between us. And 10 years is a long time to hold a grudge.

I had this assumption that things would never change. But then, without warning, my mom (my uncle's sister) told me this week that he invited me to dinner. And not just me, but Junkii too! Well, I'm not a bitter man. I took the olive branch. It felt strange driving out to his place in the country last night. I hadn't made the trip in a decade. But we all got a little booze in us and things came off without a hitch.

I'm pretty happy about the thaw, if for no other reason than because, when my nephews are in town, Junkii and I will be able to head out to his farm and watch them ride horses – an event we've been excluded from in previous years. But really, I'm just happy that this conflict won't affect my family anymore. My sister and mother took my side in the dispute, and I'm sure they felt awkward any time they had to choose between us. I'm thankful for their support, but I think we can all agree it's good that this issue is finally being put to bed.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 responses »

  1. Lex says:

    That is GREAT!!!! I'm so glad the thaw came and that you shared this. But yes, the locusts are next.

  2. Your lack of religious education is showing. The locusts come with Charleton Heston- or was that the frogs? Heathen

  3. WTF! Am I now supposed to expect the second coming of Christ? Holy crappola is all I can say…Im mostly speechless……

  4. I know! Tell me about it. Ten years, Cher. Ten years. Ten! I don't know how much to read into it, but while I was there we were talking about his and Nana's hip replacement surgeries and he said "The pain is gone now, but when you live with that constant pain, it changes you. It makes you an angry person. And that's not me." Not his exact words, but pretty close. I took that as his version of "I'm sorry." I just always thought it was such a dumb-ass thing to get that mad over. It was a completely fixable error. Hopefully he sees that too.

  5. Meei says:

    I was wondering what made you signed up for facebook. tho I also recently caved coz of ppl wanting to see more pictures of the baby. But I still haven't gotten around to posting any yet 😛

  6. Same here Meei… it seems the whole world is on the damn book. Oh
    well, at least we gave it some time to make sure it's not a fad.

    Speaking of baby pictures… *hint* *hint!*
    ~Junkii

Leave a Reply

