So far, the summer has been fairly productive for getting some major house repair done. With the help of my stepfather, we replaced the rotting, 25-year-old, sliding patio door with a beautiful new swinging garden door. There's even a screen door on it so we can let a breeze in. And we learned how to install a new door! Score.

My dad also came for a visit and helped us fix both the downstairs toilet – which was wobbly – and the one holdover problem remaining from our wiring misadventure. Thanks Dad!

The condo association arranged for the trim on our condo to be painted (by a somewhat sloppy team of college-aged painters) and, with a fencing contractor set to start next week replacing  the dividers between our patios, we're well on our way to being prepared for the coming winter.

The only remaining task to complete before the snow flies is to repair a leak around our skylight. It's a slow leak that only seems to cause problems whet it rains very heavily. But it still needs fixing. The good news is the condo association should cover the cost. The bad news is, I have no clue where to start finding a roofer to come have a look.

I guess my first step will be to ask friends and colleagues if they can recommend someone, but it would be so useful to find a website where people review their experience with tradespeople. I know they have such a thing in the U.S. – Angela's list – but I haven't been able to find one in Canada.

If you know of such a thing, please point me in the right direction. Otherwise, I guess I'll have to chase someone down myself.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 responses »

  1. Lex says:

    SCREEN DOOR – no way!!! YAAY!Okay – 2 options for shared tradesfolk- http://www.homestars.com/on/ottawa – designed for exactly this kind of thing (I've met the founder and she's looking to publish too) – http://www.gigpark.com – which is about recommendations of service folks with friends etc. For your purposes I'd say go with Homestars.com. see you soon I hopelex

  2. Have I mentioned that you ROCK?!

  3. Lex says:

    Not recently, nor often enough. BTW – mom is settled in at the Genius Bar getting her first round of "i own a mac" training!!! Man, can that woman shop!

Leave a Reply

