Show us your good luck charm.

I don't generally put much stock in luck. Still, I do carry a good luck charm. It's not a single charm as you might expect – in fact, it's different almost every time I grab it, but I still feel like it keeps me safe.

Every time I leave the house, I make sure to stuff three quarters into my right pants pocket. Any three quarters will do. In fact, when I'm in the US, it's three US quarters. I feel like something bad will befall me if I forget to carry them with me.

And I don't need to return home with them – I can spend them when I'm out. And I can carry more than three quarters with me when I leave, but I do need to have three quarters with me when I leave the house.

I don't know why I developed this superstition. Maybe I have a mild form of OCD. I remember at one time it used to be just two quarters. I don't remember why or when the price went up, but I've been doing this for at least 20 years, and there's no sign it's gonna change soon.

Oh well, at least I can always use a pay phone.

I have another good luck charm for when I travel, but I'm at work and don't have it with me so i can't take a photo.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

