The healing process is an amazing thing, but it can also be a bitch. Over the past week, it had lulled me into a false sense of hope that I would recover from my burns without the severe pain promised by the doctors. And mostly that's been true – if you refer to "pain" in the traditional sense. By Monday I had recovered enough to go for a run, and I even made it to Step Class on Tuesday.

But by Tuesday night, something else was happening. My wound was getting itchy. Very itchy. Unbearably itchy.

And what's worse is it continues this morning. I barely got a wink of sleep all night. I was up trying to figure out ways to alleviate the itching – Calamine (nope), Reactine (nope), ice packs (a bit, but I didn't want to leave it on too long).

I had to take the day off work. I was too tired to stay focused, and too itchy to do any work. Not sure how long this is going to last – but I can tell you, I'd rather be at work that have this damn itchiness! I tried sleeping more this morning, but to little effect. It's just so itchy and distracting. And I'm so tired.

I called Telehealth Ontario to talk to a nurse and they gave me a few suggestions – Benedryl, aloe
vera gel, icepack wrapped in a towel – but really they said it's part of the healing process and I'll just have to endure. Cold comfort.

It might not be painful, but it sure is a pain in the ass.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

