Second Opinion

I’m tired of writing about this topic, and I’m sure you’re tired of reading about it, but here goes…

By Sunday I was completely disheartened because the topical antibiotic I was prescribed after 4 hours in the ER on Friday clearly wasn’t helping reduce the rash on my neck. I can’t say I was shocked. The doctor who prescribed it seemed unsure herself that it was an infection causing the problem.

So, frustrated, I got up Sunday morning and hurried to a walk-in clinic. The doctor there seemed considerably more competent, not to mention more concerned about following up his diagnosis. He said he didn’t think it was an infection, but rather simply inflammation around the hair follicles: whiteheads.

Still, he gave me an oral antibiotic – just to be certain there is no infection – and advised me to stop using ointment. He wanted me to take an anti-inflammatory (ibuprofen) and to apply cold compresses to help reduce the swelling.

I’m pretty convinced that the follicles became clogged from my over-use of ointment. I haven’t used any since Sunday morning and already the inflammation and the itchiness are drastically reduced. It’s still a bit itchy, but I think that’s partly because of the hair that’s growing. It’s not comfortable to shave yet.

Unfortunately, because my skin is dry now, there’s also some peeling happening – which is not pretty to look at – but I think there is healing happening now, and that’s a very good sign. I offered to stay home to avoid grossing out my colleagues, but the boss hasn’t taken me up on that offer.

I go back on Wednesday to see the doctor, but I think I’m back on the road to recovery.

2 thoughts on “Second Opinion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.