Cantonese is tough. No surprise. I thought I could do it, but I just don't have the time to practice that I would need to actually remember which inflection to use on which syllable. Over the course of the summer I have pretty much stopped using my ipod to learn it, and I'm basically back to not remembering a word of it.

That sucks. It would truly be a wonderful skill to have – not least because it would enable me to communicate with my in-laws. Maybe I'll go back to it some day, but I can pretty much guarantee it's not going to be any time soon.

On the other hand, I thought it might be wise to try to pick up some Spanish. I have a base in French and I figure it's got to be easier than Cantonese. Plus it would be useful if we decide to start traveling to the sunny south for mid-winter getaways.

I've got hold of the Pimsleur Spanish course – the same course I started with the Cantonese – and I have access to several Spanish speakers at the office. Hopefully this time my learning will progress a little quicker. The slow progress in Cantonese was a real drain on the morale

I find that colder temperatures bring a drop in pedestrian traffic, and I can practice aloud without people thinking I'm talking to myself. So by the time the weather is cold enough to warrant a trip southward, I'm hoping to have some of the basics down.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 responses »

  1. From the 2 courses of Spanish I took in College, you will find it a breeze- after knowing French….its a very good language to learn and it helps your confidence on learning languages……especially here in Texas- a useful language to have……And if you need help, your nephews are always willing to show off their spanish skills.

  2. Excellent. Junkii wants me to continue learning Cantonese though, so I might have to give it another shot – but I think I'll still take a break on it and start the Spanish first.

  3. Lex says:

    Might I interest you in a quality Mini Book Expo title – Dirty Spanish?Sorry Junkii none of the publishers have offered Dirty Cantonese or Cantonese for the iPod yet. Opportunity?

  4. Hmm. That sound kind of fun. maybe I'll claim that. Looks like there's no rush – 5 copies left!

  5. Lex says:

    Hey, it only release minutes before I saw your post… but claims have slowed up a bit lately.

Leave a Reply

