After seeing Mamma Mia this summer, I realized there were more than a few Abba songs I was unfamiliar with, despite my indoctrination as a young boy.

I've since discovered that most of the songs I don't know are on the Visitors album – and it's been my very great pleasure to (re)learn some of them over the past month or two. This one in particular has been stuck in my head for weeks now.

It was definitely familiar from my childhood, but I would have been hard pressed to recall anything about it without hearing it again. Now I can't shake it. But I'm not complaining. I've had worse ear worms.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 responses »

  1. margotinto says:

    I had this album when I was in grade 4 (1982), and do have all the songs memorized. But I still find it tacky and derivative, I don't see why this album got such critical acclaim. I haven't seen Mamma Mia, tho, so maybe seeing that would increase my appreciation for this particular album.

  2. Head over Heels was never one of my favorites….but I have to say that Under Attack and When all is said and done are 2 of my favorite Abba songs. Now I need to go listen- thanks alot

  3. Hmm, I like Under Attack, but it's a fairly simple song, and I can see why Margot might call that one derivative. (Isn't it a bonus track?) But Head Over Heels is brilliant – with great use of chromatic scales and a wonderful baseline anchoring the chorus.When All is Said and Done (and Slipping Through my Fingers) were the two songs from Mamma Mia that inspired this research, and I agree with Cheryll that When all is Said and Done is one of Abba's best.

  4. Ah yes…..Chromatic scales……and dont forget the use of monochromatic infections…..WTF!

  5. Thought you'd like that.If you played 12 notes on a piano – black keys and white keys – in order, that's a chromatic scale. It's not all that common to use it in popular music. Chromatic scales make things sound kind of "circus-y" because the most famous use of chromatic scales is in a famous circus song (yes, the one you're thinking of)In Head over Heels – it's used in the part where they sing "the kind of girl who likes to follow a trend"Learn something new every day!

  6. mαhmiќΘў says:

    thanks for sharing this song. this is the first time i heard this one, even though i thought i heard most of their songs since i was a kid.

Leave a Reply

