…And that's a good thing.

Despite the fact that I've never bought any of their albums, I do like the Killers. They are one of the most promising bands to emerge in the past few years. Every album they've produced has had 2 or 3 real gems on it.

Unfortunately, the rest of those albums – particularly Sam's Town – have been filled with guitar-driven rock tracks that just didn't live up to my expectations. Aside from those few gems, the melodies and instrumentation on the rest of the albums just weren't enough to make them stand out from the general muddle of all the rock bands currently on the scene.

So while I remained interested in their efforts, I was often disappointed. Same has been true of Bowie for ages. I respect his work, but it usually doesn't quite strike a chord with me.

Well, this new Killers album is something else entirely. It's got more of an '80s feel to it. It's more keyboard than guitar-driven. The sound is less rock and more pop – or at least pop rock – and it just suits the music way better. It suits the melodies and it suits Brandon Flowers's voice. It's not just another round of bruce-springsteen inspired songs. And this time, I'll definitely pick up a copy for the collection.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses »

  1. margotinto says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! I want this album so badly, and Getalife keeps saying he's going to go get it, and then something comes up and he can't get across the street to the mall. I think I'm just going to pick it up myself. I know, I could download it, but I'm a liner-notes nerd.

  2. Yeah, I'm still a fan of the CD – although in truth I don't use them as much as I used to. I generally download first and then only buy the CD if the album is worthy. This one is.

  3. margotinto says:

    Finally got it…..and I love it. So funny, I actually find this album kinda Bowie-esque.

  4. It's definitely got some '80s Bowie-ness to it.

Leave a Reply

