From childhood 'til now… What's the best Christmas present you've ever received?

It's not an easy question to answer, but one that definitely stands out was the year I got the Star Wars Imperial Walker – also known as an AT-AT – originally seen in The Empire Strikes Back. Ultimately, the toy proved to be not very portable or really even all that fun to play with, but the moment of awe I experienced when I first got it was fantastic.

Here's how it played out.

We opened all our stockings, then had breakfast, then we opened our gifts under the tree. And I was happy, thinking I had made a great haul that year. Then my folks asked me to run down to the basement to get something (I forget what) and as I opened the cellar door, there, on the bottom landing, was a brand new AT-AT!

I'm sure I shrieked like a little girl.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One response »

  1. And now your nephews love this toy….its the gift that keeps on giving- for 30 years…..

Leave a Reply

