I'm switching back and forth between two songs this morning, and neither of them are particularly interesting. I don't mind an earworm when it's an interesting song, but situations like this are just annoying.

Money Money

The first (and more prominent) song floating about my brain is from the 1972 film Cabaret. We watched the film on Christmas night and I'm sure this earworm has just been waiting for the Killers Earworm to pipe down a bit so that it could have a go. And now it has seized the opportunity. Thing is there are so many great songs from this musical, and here I am stuck with one of my least favorites: Money, Money.

Mas Que Nada

The second earworm is definitely nothing special. In fact it hasn't been special for a few years. Rather, it's been overplayed on every version of So You Think You Can Dance known to man, and we heard it most recently last night while watching SYTYCD Australia. It's the go-to song for ballroom dancers who need to dance a solo routine – the version of Mas Que Nada by Sergio Mendes and the Black Eyed Peas. It's a good song, but I think I've heard it enough now to satisfy any need I might ever have to hear it again.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses »

  1. I still have "Single Ladies (put a ring on it)" by Beyonce in my head….I cannot get it out

  2. Yup – that's definitely a catchy one. I'm surprised at how much I like that song. I'm no BeyoncĂ© fan.

Leave a Reply

