We had the Jehovah's witnesses come to the door again this weekend. Why can't they just go off and believe whatever nonsense they want to believe and leave me out of it? Why they gotta be all up in my face?! I don't go to their judgmental social clubs (churches) to hand out pamphlets stating "There's probably no god. Now stop worrying and enjoy your life"

Look. I don't believe in a higher power. I was raised to believe in the Christian God, but I don't anymore. It's taken me a long time to become comfortable with my atheism, but I am comfortable with it now. I personally think the idea that there's some magical supreme being out there to be ludicrous. But what do I know? I'm enough of a realist to recognize that I can't know for sure whether there's a god or not. So generally I keep my beliefs to myself. It's really nobody's business but my own.

And I think that's the key difference. Believers – people with such a strong faith – don't see how they could possibly be wrong. And that's intensely frustrating. If people would only recognize that they might have the wrong belief system I think the world would be a much better place. Maybe then people could just believe what they wanted to and stop fretting about what others think. Stop trying to convince others that their view is correct. Stop fighting wars over it.

You can't know for sure. How hard is that to understand? Fairly hard, clearly. Given the state of the world. No, the faithful speak with such certainty that we have little option but to smile and nod politely when they come to the door (or slam it in their face, but I don't like to be mean).

Maybe I should start going door to door with this message. What do you think?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 responses »

  1. I think you should make yourself a NO SOLICITING sign……works like a charm on the Mormons and the guys trying to clean out your gutters!

  2. Not a bad idea – although we used to have one at the apartment and it didn't deter everyone. Still, it might deter some.

  3. its against the law here if someone solicits when you have a sign up and you can call the police….so folks dont do it……not sure the law there…..

Leave a Reply

