Don't forget to take note of your own earworm before you read on.

I heard Donna Fargo's The Happiest Girl in the Whole USA recently on an episode of Big Love. The original is a very happy, fluffy, country-pop song from 1972. The version on Big Love was sung slowly, almost like a dirge, and it really played up the whole "God" angle of the song. In my opinion, it didn't work.

The original is a much nicer song, and I decided to listen to it last night. Which has resulted in me having it stuck in my head this morning. Now you can too. Check it out:

The Happiest Girl in the Whole USA

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 responses »

  1. margotinto says:

    No Woman No Cry is firmly planted in my head. We head the Fugees' version on the radio the other day, and I made ReRe stay in the car until the song was over, then we needed to listen to it on YouTube. I've introduced him to the original, and he seems to like both equally.

  2. I see the appeal of that song, but generally am not inclined to like reggae in any form.

  3. margotinto says:

    BTW, I just tried to listen to the song you posted, but had to turn it off before I killed myself.

  4. Oh, you're just mean. Then again, if I hadn't grown up with music like that, I'd probably do the same.Never mind! I make no apologies for my earworms!

  5. Funny enough, this was my earworm about 2 months ago….and yes- I too have fond childhood memories of this one……

  6. I didn't think there was a Kanye West song that had enough of a melody to make it as an earworm. Possibly Stronger, but I'd be more likely to have the original Daft Punk song stuck than the KW version.

Leave a Reply

