Thankfully my job doesn't often require me to bring work home. Once I leave the office, I'm pretty much done for the day. I don't give it another thought until the next morning when I turn on my office E-mail.

There are exceptions, of course. A few times a year, when I'm very busy with a publication for instance, I do take home a little added stress – but I'm usually pretty good at planning ahead, which keeps the stress to a minimum and helps me get my work done without having to rely on overtime.

The only times I do feel some compunction to work outside of regular office hours are our semi-annual Board of Directors meetings – which always happen over the course of two days: Friday and Saturday. Technically I'm only required to be there on the Friday, but while the Saturday is purely voluntary for staff, I always feel pressure to show up and take part. It's just guilt, but still; It's powerful.

So off I went this Saturday to diligently play my part. Not that I have a big role to play. I never have to present to the board, and I'm only there as a resource person in case my boss has questions. Usually I spend my time making sure the technical side of things – slide shows, projection equipments, etc – is all running smoothly. No, it's not a demanding role, but it just feels like such a waste of my time.

I basically have to give up half a weekend and then I wind up not getting the rest that I require to keep myself sane, and I turn up to work cranky and grumpy on Monday morning.

Just thought you'd like to know why I'm sitting here in my office with the door closed, ignoring my colleagues.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

