I overdid it at the gym on Saturday. In the morning I went with mom to do two fitness classes – BodyPump (with weights) and BodyFlow (Yoga/pilates). And that was great. In fact, I think we'll try to make that a regular Saturday-morning routine. Junkii and I have been looking to add a set of classes on the weekend, and if we pull mom into the routine, then there'll be one extra person to encourage us to get our butts to the gym.

Of course, Saturday afternoon, I went myself one better. A friend, who was doing her certification to teach fitness classes, asked for volunteers to join her BodyStep class. I agreed, despite the fact that it would be my third class that day.

It's pretty rare that I do three classes in a day, but even so, I don't think it would have been my downfall. I think the thing that caused my kink – the straw that broke the camel's back, if you will – was that the afternoon class substituted a set of pilates back exercises in place of the usual cardio exercises. I basically did too much pilates back work and I guess I pulled/twisted something the wrong way.

So here I sit at my desk, and every few minutes or so I wince, catch my breath, and realign myself. And I know this muscle kink will sort itself out, eventually. I just wish it would hurry up. I took a hot tub last night – which helped – but if it doesn't move along soon I  might need to head to a massage therapist. Or at least buy some massage oil and get Junkii to have a go.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses »

  1. Is it feeling better yet?

  2. Maybe a little. It's no worse. I've had this happen before. It usually takes a week or more to go away completely. I'm going to the gym today, but I'm not doing the back exercises in BodyFlow. I'll just stretch during that part.

  3. margotinto says:

    I thought this post was going to be about sushi in the Market.

  4. mmmm, sushi. But no. That would be Kinki. No double-i.

Leave a Reply

