I'm reading a very long series of fantasy novels – A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. It's so engaging, with plenty of political intrigue and loads of characters. Each book is a huge roller coaster of a novel – over 1000 pages each – and I'm only on book three (of seven).

Each chapter is told from the POV of one of about 10 characters – so you really get emotionally involved in those characters' lives. But Martin has a tendency to kill off characters I care for. And the worst of it is that, because he's spent so much time developing these characters, I never expect him to kill them off. I never see it coming.

Here I am reading away at noon hour on Wednesday and two major characters were unceremoniously slaughtered at the end of the chapter. I was floored.

I took an extra-long lunch. You know… to mourn their passing.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses »

  1. margotinto says:

    Did you scream like Homer?

  2. I wept openly, like the sissy I am.

Leave a Reply

