Okay, it's Tuesday at 11pm, and I have a serious case of earworm. And I have no idea where it came from.

I'm convinced that there's part of my brain – locked off from the rest – that just houses melodies and lyrics. And every so often I get a jailbreak of some piece of music that's been in there for about 25 years.

I still beleive

Case in point – tonight's earworm is a song called I Still Believe, and I remember it from an album my sister had when I was growing up – It featured music form the TV series Fame.

I haven't heard it since I was about 10. I don't even know if she still has the LP. And yet I found myself humming it earlier today. I knew the melody, but couldn't quite place the song. But my brain kept on working on it in the background and by the time I was walking home from work, I could actually remember the bulk of the lyrics. And now I've found the song on YouTube.

Actually, It's not a bad song at all. I wonder if the rest of the album still holds up – we used to listen to that thing non-stop. I see it's available on amazon marketplace for about $5.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 responses »

  1. I know! I'm seriously thinking of buying the CD. I just have a hard time paying more for shipping than for the actual CD! I might just send it to you and have mom pick it up when she's there.

  2. send it on! OR I could buy it for your Xmas present????

Leave a Reply

