I recently did a step class at the gym and got a bit freaked out. In a good way.

The track we were doing called for participants to switch positions with each other partway through the song – à la musical chairs. At the appropriate time I ran to find a new step, but due to the ensuing confusion, I wound up right back where I started.

The instructor, thinking quickly, swapped places with me. I WAS ON THE STAGE!

It was really the end of the track and it only lasted about 15 seconds, but what a strange place to be. The view from the stage is so much different from what I'm used to. I'm loud, but bashful, and I found it really hard to look out at the rest of the class.

It just confirmed that I'm more a cheerleader than an instructor.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One response »

  1. Oh that would have sent me running for the lockers! YIKES! Good for you for handling that……

Leave a Reply

