Ever have one of those days where you have about 10 things on your plate that need to get done lickety-split? That's me today. I shouldn't even be taking this time out to write a blog entry, but I'm nothing if not a procrastinator.

Nothing much to report today, so I'll just give a quick review of An Education, which I went to see last night as part of my Oscar Prep work.

The film is a bit understated, so it's not gonna win best picture, but I found it charming. It's a coming-of-age story about a 16-year old London girl in the 1960s who falls for a playboy twice her age. Nothing terribly earth-shattering about it, but lead actress (Carrey Mulligan) was wonderful. I really hope she picks up the award for best actress. I heard that she might get the role of Eliza Doolittle in the upcoming remake of My Fair Lady. If she does, that would go a long way towards alleviating my fears about that project – she was THAT good. And with supporting roles from Alfred Molina and Emma Thompson, this film really stood out for its performances. I didn't really know what to expect going into this one, and I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed this one – aside from the slightly rushed ending – and would recommend it for anyone wanting some light drama.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

