I'm a busy guy at the office. I may be a lazy-bones at home, but come time to work and I'm there – head in the game. I think it stems for the fact that I have a hard time saying "no." To people. I really need to learn a lesson: that saying 'no' won't make people dislike me. But what's done is done, and my to-do list just keeps growing.

And when I have items on my to-do list, I like to put my head down and accomplish stuff. but there's an office phenomenon that just keeps getting in my way: the group meeting.

The group meeting is a scourge. It eats up valuable time that could be spent accomplishing tasks and, what's more, it usually results in further tasks being added to the to-do list. It's a very one-step-forward-two-steps-back approach to time management. As far as I can see, there is absolutely no redeeming value to the group meeting (except in cases where the group meeting takes place over a few beers – but that happens to rarely to be of import). Anything that can be accomplished in the group meeting can be accomplished more quickly and effectively via the one-on-one office visit or through email. I propose a ban on the group meeting.

Today I have a staff meeting at 10am and a section meeting at 2pm. Guess how much work I expect to get done today?

…and don't bother pointing out the irony that I'm wasting my time writing this blog post – I'm aware.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

