Junkii likes to (bar)tend. Yeah, you know he shares the booze that he finds.
And lately something's changed, it ain't hard to define.
Junkii's got got himself a new drink and he's feeding me white wine.

And he's partial to those off-drys.
And he's loving those wines with body (on his palate)
And he's serving Gewurztraminer, late late at night.

You know I wish that I had Junkii's wine….

Okay, enough of that silliness. All this to say that I'm finding my palate for white wines. Junkii has always liked them, but I've only ever been partial to reds, finding whites to all be bland and tasteless. But I must have been drinking bad wines before because the ones we've been getting lately have just been bursting with flavour.

It started with our recent trip to Prince Edward County – where whites are king. I was finally forced to try a few whites and was pleasantly surprised by what I found. Not always – some of them were pure crap – but I tried enough good ones to realize that I have a new drink option; especially for the summer months when a nice cool beverage tastes so good.

As with reds, we've been following recommendations for whites from Michael Pinkus (AKA The Grape Guy). He reviews wines released by the LCBO every two weeks – so he's always reviewing wines that are readily available to us. And his reviews tend to match our palate.

And thankfully, Junkii and I share a pretty common palate already. We both find that we're liking wines that aren't too dry – a touch of sweetness, although not necessarily a dessert wine. Gewurtzraminer seems to suit us well.

Okay, time to leave work. Guess what I'm gonna do tonight?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses »

  1. listen to some more Rick springfield while getting poluted?

  2. margotinto says:

    I just have to remind myself that champagne is white wine, so there has got to be some non-bubbly that tastes great as well, right? I think I have also been drinking lower quality whites, for whatever reason, and once you get a good bottle, it can be fantastic.

  3. Such a great song – and it just kind of fit the topic.

  4. Actually, that makes a lot of sense. White wine is often served verrrry cold – and while that's somewhat refreshing, it just makes it impossible to taste anything.Junkii and I want a proper wine fridge at some point, but either we need one that's short and wide – to fit in our liquor cabinet – or else we need to wait until we have a bigger house.

Leave a Reply

