Whenever I walk around downtown, I try to take different routes in the hope of finding something new. I’ve often been surprised to find a sculpture or some other piece of art, and I want to share what I’ve found. I’ve decided to start a new occasional series that will feature public works of art scattered around Ottawa – pieces that are open to view but that may not be located in the most obvious places. Things you might not have noticed.

For instance, this mammoth piece of steel sculpture by Charles Daudelin is hidden on the grounds of the National Arts Centre. And by hidden, I mean it’s easy enough to find if you know where you’re going, but it’s up a flight of stairs that no one would ever climb because it doesn’t really lead anywhere except to another staircase.<

It's like the NAC management said – "Oh God, look at this monstrosity we commissioned. Where can we stash it so none of us will ever have to look at it again!"

Personally I quite like it. I often take my lunch here – it's quiet and I have a nice sculpture to look at.

I have no idea what it's supposed to be – and since the artist called it "untitled." I'm guessing he didn't know either – but I like the sheer size of it and I like all the nooks and crannies. It's actually hollow, but it looks to me like it's cut out of one giant piece of solid steel.

Leave a Reply

