I’ve never been a fan of coffee. To me it always just tastes burnt. But the whole ritual that people have around coffee has always been fascinating. Just listening to some people’s Starbucks orders leaves me speechless. How do you remember all that?! And how do the baristas remember it all?!

But, not being a coffee drinker, I thought I was forever doomed to be without my own version of a Starbucks order. That was until I discovered Chai lattes – known to me and my neighbourhood Starbucks barista as “a grande non-fat tazzo chai.” Pumpkin-pie-in-a-glass. Mmmmm. Yummy hot or cold.

Still, it’s not my favorite café beverage. My heart still belongs to Old Town.

Old Town is a coffee chain in Malaysia. They’re famous for what they call White Coffee – which is a drink made from coffee beans roasted in margarine. I know, it sounds gross. I still don’t drink the coffee, but they also make a beverage called white tea. I assume it’s made using a similar process, but it’s probably just got some chemical whitener added to it. Whatever. All I know is that it’s delicious.

Of course, there are no Old Town establishments in Canada, but they do make an instant version that’s available at any Asian food store worth its weight. And while it’s not quite as good as the original, it’s still pretty damned tasty. Best of all are the times when i remember to make one and stick it in the fridge to cool down. A cold instant white tea over ice on a hot summer day? Heaven.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

