This week, the 30-day challenge seems to be focusing on photos. In general, I’m not an especially visual person – that’s Junkii, the photographer. I’m more affected by music, and all things aural. I hope I never go deaf.

I don’t want to give you the impression that I’m a complete Luddite when it comes to the visual. I’m very fond of fiddling about with graphic software like InDesign and Photoshop – even if I’m somewhat creativity-challenged. Design is actually one of my favorite parts of my job.

Likewise, I do go through periods where I love to take photos. That’s especially true when we travel – even just on road trips. And the photo I’ve selected for this entry is one I took in Cambodia last December. We had just spent two days touring through temple ruins – huge and gorgeous structures that, despite their beauty, were devoid of human life (except for other tourists, of course). At the end of that second day, our tour guide suggested that, since we had a few hours left, we could take a tour of a nearby floating village. We took him up on the offer and it turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip. We went from these empty stone temples to a village that was just absolutely teeming with life – full of kids on floating schools, and people in boats, and vendors. Bustle and noise. It was incredible; all the more so because the sun was low in the sky and casting a golden light on everything.

Needless to say, Junkii and I were fighting over the camera to try to get as many images as we could.

One of my favorite scenes I grabbed was of two little girls playing with one another, running together and jumping into the lake – like they didn’t have a care in the world. It’s not perfect – it may be a little blurry, or maybe it could use a little work in terms of composition, but for the feeling it gives me, it’s one of the best photos I’ve ever taken.

4 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    This is a great photo…..LOVE IT

  2. ❤ I love this photo too – the colours, the glee in their faces, the little puppy looking to ready-set-go – you captured it well.

    • Rockr says:

      Thanks! I was just in the right place at the right time. I actually got three photos of this scene – the two girls coming together, then getting ready to jump, and then getting out of the water. The series tells a nice little story.

  3. […] — A Photo that Makes yo…Freedom Smith on Day 08 — A Photo that Makes yo…Rockr on Day 07 – A Photo that ma…dandelionexpress on Day 07 – A Photo that ma… My […]

Leave a Reply

