I’m going two ways with this post. The first is a photo taken of me in May 2000 – so just over 10 years ago. Nothing embarrassing here (at least not for me). Yeah, I had shaved my head. Very functional hairstyle. woo hoo. So exciting.

May 2000

And now for the embarrassing bit. Here’s me, ready for my Junior High Prom – sooooo, I guess 1987 (23 years ago). It’s not pretty. Steel yourself. This is me in full-on Don-Johnson (Miami Vice) mode; sleeves rolled up and everything. I make no apologies. yeah, I was a dork. My pants were too high on my waist. My hair was not stylish at all. My glasses were too big. I had tassels on my shoes… and I had my one and only date with a girl.

Okay, maybe i do make one apology. I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize to her. Dawn, you probably would have actually enjoyed your prom a lot more if you had gone with someone who wasn’t a closet case. To ensure this never happened again – neither the ruining of someone’s good time nor the fashion trainwreck you see before you – I did skip all future dances and proms. Hope that goes some way towards making amends.

And now… (ugh)…

11 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    I remember those dorky glasses! And I still love even though you looked like that (because I looked OH SO GOOD myself!)

  2. hehehe, awesome 🙂 both pictures make me giggle. You look nothing like that photo below. I never would have guessed that was you!!

  3. Freedom Smith says:

    Awesome old pictures!! I love seeing how folks have changed. I have posted, in the past, pictures of my way back when. I would probably have to password protect them if I posted them again, as I would like to stay anonymous on this blog (not have it tied to my name).

  4. Lex says:

    omg – those are both adorable. Including the fact that photo #1 includes familiar faces, which is a good indicator of the kind of friend you are.

    But what about the Junkii shots? Too shy?

  5. Meei says:

    I too saw some familiar faces! (which I thought was not possible since I’ve only met some of them once 😉 ) I also own some of Junkii’s old pictures ….. but he was always stylish….

    • Rockr says:

      That’s mostly true about him being stylish (although I have seen some pretty dorky pics of him from before he hit his teens). And Meei, we definitely visited that group of guys in that apartment when you were here. I have a few photos of that night too!

Leave a Reply

