I finally have a phone to call my own.

I’ve been one of the biggest cellphone holdouts among my group of friends – futilely railing against the technology for the better part of a decade. And now I’ve finally succumbed – and in the most complete way. I’ve entered the cult of iPhone.

Okay, this is a bit of exaggeration. Junkii and I have shared a cell phone for years. and technically, I’ve even had my own phone for more than a year – ever since junkii got his iPhone and I inherited our old shared phone. But that phone never quite felt like it was mine – I think mainly because it was set up with a pay-as-you-go system. The phone always felt like it was only for emergency use.

So this time, I’ve entered into a monthly contract and I can use it whenever I want. This time it feels like my possession.

I had planned to get one when I heard the iPhone4 was being released, but I talked myself out of it because I didn’t feel I needed the extra expense. Junkii roped me back in last weekend when he revealed that his employer had been offered corporate pricing on a good iPhone plan from Telus. He placed the order late last week and, on Friday, I arrived home to my new phone.

So what took me so long?
I don’t know what it is about technological change that bothers me so much. I actually have a negative visceral response to it, despite that fact that, in the end, it usually turns out to be a change for the better. I guess it’s just the bother of figuring out new ways of doing stuff. It’s onerous and I’m lazy. Hope I can change – because I don’t want to wind up as the old man who curses “today’s youth and their new-fangled thingamajigs!”

The next challenge will be to learn how to use my new iMac (ordered form apple and arriving in the next week or two). Let’s see how long it takes Junkii to get tired of me complaining as he helps me adapt.

6 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOO….you are really heading to the dark side with a new iMac and everything! Im so proud of you! And you wont have any real learning curve on it….they are way easy! I cant wait to hear how much you love it….welcome to my world!

    • Rockr says:

      Junkii is making me. He’s not gonna offer IT support for windows-based machines anymore.

      I can’t wait to get it – I’ve been wanting to learn Adobe illustrator, but my old computer is far too slow to allow it.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    That sounds very exciting! A new phone and a new computer? i have a macbook pro and it is great. Yes, I had to get used to it but it is soooo much fasts than a pc!

    I don’t know what I would do without my phone! Being able to send a text when there is a change of plans or having my kids reach me in an emergency is worth it. But I like texting, then I don’t have to have a long conversation just to ask one question.

    Good luck on learning how to do all of these new things!

  3. Steve’s jealous. He wanted to get a mac when his computer was giving him trouble. But he was able to fix it just when he was at his breaking point and looking up a mac to buy.

Leave a Reply

