I finished Scott Pilgrim – the tale of a guy who must defeat his new girlfriend’s seven evil ex-boyfriends (well, six boys and one girl). But I started reading the series far too early. I started it soon after the penultimate volume was released (and finished it about 5 hours later – it’s a quick read). So I had to wait the better part of a year before the last volume (Vol. 6) was released earlier this summer. I managed to forget a lot of what happened leading up to the finale, but I think I remembered the important bits.

In the end, the story arc felt a bit rushed. I don’t suppose you want a long book review, but basically, I found the finale’s explanation was left far too vague. In other words, I’m still not quite clear why what happened happened. I just know it happened. And frankly, in this case, that’s enough. The book was never really about the overarching plot. The entertainment value for me came from the interaction between characters and the humour that stemmed from it. I laughed out loud a lot at this book.

I would recommend this series to anyone who enjoys comic books because, despite it’s shortcomings, it’s still one of the most entertaining and creative books I’ve read in a long time. Plus, you can read the entire series in the blink of an eye. So why not?

Now, I can finally go see the film. Hmm, is it even still in theatres?

5 responses »

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Any book that makes you laugh out loud sounds good to me!

  2. ohhh yeah! thanks for reminding me I wanted to see if I could get this at the library. It probably has a gajillion holds on it now that the movie’s out, but worth a look. Do you own a copy that I could borrow just in case?

    • Rockr says:

      No, I don’t own it. I used the library system. It’s been out for a while now (except volume 6) so it might not be all that hard to get a hold of.

      • Bummer. I went and checked in the library system and there’s 120 holds just on the first volume. Maybe someone else we know has them.

      • Rockr says:

        😦
        The good thing is that the books only take about 5 minutes to read a volume. So if people take them out, they should be able to get though them pretty quickly and get them back to the library. Hopefully that number will drop quickly.

Leave a Reply

