“Pssht. Non-fiction.” He said with derisive scorn in his voice. “Them’s fancy lurnin’ books.”


I love to read. I’ll read all sorts of fiction: Fantasy, SciFi, Literature, mystery, comic books, poetry – you name it. But I really don’t read much non-fiction. I prefer to get my non-fiction from TV and film (I love documentaries) and the web (using educational videos to learn software).

I’m easily bored by non-fiction while a well-written fiction just hooks me in and won’t let me go. So I don’t have much to post here.

I’ve only read a couple of non-fiction books in my day that have actually stuck with me (or at least that I can think of at the moment):

The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
I read this book (or rather, listened to it) while recovering from laser eye surgery a few years ago. Written by one of the world’s foremost atheists, it was one of the clearest arguments against the existence of God that I’ve ever heard, and it served to cement my own belief system. I really enjoyed this book and I wouldn’t mind going back to re-read it. I wish more people would question the faith they were indoctrinated with. Maybe the world wouldn’t be as fucked up as it is, with so many people killing in the name of a non-existent deity.

And, something completely different…

The Kid: What Happened After My Boyfriend and I Decided to Go Get Pregnant by Dan Savage
This was an account of how Savage and his partner came to adopt their son about 10 years ago. I learned about open adoption and the book made me seriously consider the idea of Junkii and I adopting. Still haven’t ruled that out as a possibility, BTW.

Hmmm, pretty slim pickings, huh? Maybe I should check out a “Best non-fiction of the century” list and see if I can change my mind. Anyone have any good suggestions?

2 responses »

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    The second book sounds very interesting to me! I think it is wonderful that adoption is an option that you can consider seriously. Hopefully, someday, my oldest son will find a wonderful partner and they might consider this option. My son would be a wonderful father. He was 6 when we adopted one of my daughters and I had a daughter shortly afterwords, so they were like twins. I was homeschooling and my son was awesome with the girls. I don’t want him to miss out on being a dad, just because he happens to be gay. Thanks for mentioning the book! Perhaps my library has it.

    • Rockr says:

      I think it still depends on which state he lives in, Freedom, but otherwise there’s no reason why he couldn’t adopt. Check it out – I borrowed it from the library, so there’s a good chance yours might have it.

Leave a Reply

