The first thing that comes to mind is my ability to play piano – but I’m pretty far from talented when it comes to that particular hobby. It takes a great deal of work for me to get a single piece of music to the point where I can play it for any sort of an audience.

I had posted two or three samples of my piano “skills” back when this blog was on Vox, but I can’t repost them here because WordPress doesn’t offer free audio-file hosting.

Sadly, I have fallen out of the habit of a nightly piano practice since ceasing lessons a year and a half ago. As a result, what talent I did have has only been further eroded. Note to self: find time to practice.

I do, however, seem to have some innate talent when it comes to design and layout. I’ve never taken any courses on design and, aside from a software course on how to use Adobe InDesign, my skills are all self-taught; based on observation of current design trends on the web and in magazines and trade journals.

I have to credit Junkii with getting me interested. He’s quite talented himself. Together, we’re working on preparing a book layout featuring the content of the blog we kept during our last trip to Asia. Junkii has done more than I have – and it’s a slow process since it has to be done in our spare time, which we have little of – but we’re quite happy with how the overall layout is coming along.

Here are a few of the latest pages we’ve designed. Click the image for a full-size view.

A slightly older layout by Junkii, but one of my favorites that he's done. I like the repetition of vertical lines on both sides of the page.


One of Junkii's most recent - very magazine-style.


It's tough to get a lot of images on one page without making it look too cluttered.


The subject is a bit bleak, but I'm probably happiest with how this one turned out - about our trip to the Killing Fields.

4 responses »

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Wow, it looks fantastic!! Will you have it printed? I hope so. Looks like a wonderful keepsake.

  2. I can’t wait to see it all put together! After seeing your designs before I wanted to learn/get InDesign and do the same for our trip this summer. I haven’t yet. I could always just stick to the program I did our wedding album with.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Yeah, there’s lots of default layout programs for books, but we wanted something different and unique. It would certainly be a lot less work to pick a template and stick with it – and we’ll likely do that for our annual yearbooks, but this one seemed to deserve a little extra attention. Don’t hold your breath waiting for it though. It will likely take months yet.

Leave a Reply

