Three-Way Piece: Points by Henry Moore

What the hell?! The British Government donated a sculpture to the Library and Archives Canada when the Library opened in 1967, Canada’s centennial year. It’s a bronze, abstract sculpture by artist Henry Moore (1898-1986), and it’s called Three-Way Piece: Points.

It’s kind of hidden, being located underneath a staircase towards the back of the main foyer. I snapped a few photos of it when I was there last Friday evening for an event, figuring it would make a good addition to the Lost Artefacts series.

But now I come to find out that there’s another version of the sculpture at Columbia University in New York, also installed in 1967!

What the hell, Britain?! You couldn’t even give us an original piece of artwork?!

Still, I do like this piece – and I can sort of tell you why, but there’s no way you’re gonna be able to empathize.

When I was a kid, Moncton airport was tiny. There were literally two gates, and only one waiting lounge. It was nothing. Exasperatingly (but also appropriately) there was really nothing to do for a kid when we would go there to pick up a visitor. At one point, the airport authority installed a stone sculpture that was very similar in shape and size to this bronze one by Moore. Sure, it wasn’t a video game, but it did offer SOME level of stimulation for a young mind. It was something we were allowed to touch, and I remember the coolness and the smoothness of the stone. It’s amazing what the mind remembers.

Three-Way Piece: Points reminds me of that sculpture. It’s that simple. I wish I could find a photo of the airport sculpture, but Google Images isn’t cooperating.


4 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    OK…I dont remember the sculpture you are talking about…but it made me go off and look for it…I didn’t find it…but I did find this….some performance piece picture at Moncton Airport….

    http://monctonpixels.blogspot.com/2008/04/departures-and-arrivals-dparts-et.html

    The sad part is, the only guy watching it is some dude in cammo gear and a frikkin gun! WTF Moncton!

    I also went on the Moncton Airport web site and they state that they “now boast 4 terminals!” I then looked at a map and terminal 1&2 are out the same door and terminal 3&4 are out another door…..so really- its still only 2……sigh……

    Oh Moncton airport….I don’t miss you.

    Im going to keep looking for that sculpture though

    • RoC(k)r says:

      If you find it, let me know. Incidentally, I’ve been to the new Moncton Airport, and it’s much nicer than the old one we grew up with. I haven’t flown in/out of there yet, but I did take a drive out to look it over last time I was in Moncton. They did a nice job with it.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    This is bronze? I thought it was wood. It is interesting, but even more so to you. It was fun hearing the story about when you were small.

Leave a Reply

