After weeks of procrastination on purchasing our flight to East Africa, Junkii surprised me this week with news that Lufthansa was having a sale. Only problem was the sale was ending that night and we needed to book the flights. Now!

I’m not good with rash decisions – I’ll admit it – so this news didn’t go over too well. I just wanted to veg out in front of the television and eat cheese and crackers; wig-party leftovers. I won’t lie. I may have thrown a bit of a fit. I’m not proud of it.

But Junkii was persistent (infuriatingly so) and eventually convinced me that the possibility of saving $1,000 on this flight was well worth an evening of airline research. Seeing the reason in that, I grabbed my computer chair and joined him for this unpleasant task.

One step closerAnd you know, in the end, it didn’t take too long. We managed to get a flight from Newark to Addis Abeba (via Frankfurt) for just $2000; one grand apiece! That’s a savings of about $500 per person from the cheapest flights we had found previously. What could be better?

But how to get to Newark?

Thankfully, last year we signed up for a VISA card that offers air travel rewards. We have accumulated enough for two short-haul flights, so we were able to purchase tix from Ottawa to Newark for nothing more than the cost of the taxes – $230!

We’re now set for our trip there and back. All that’s left is to book a few regional flights and a few hotels, and we’ll be done. Oh yeah, and visas. >:P

Still, it’s a relief to have that long-haul flight booked. Thanks for the push, Junkii.

3 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Well- that solves it…we are SOOOO related! I get EXACTLY the same as you when pushed into doing something I don’t want to do yet I know needs to be done……Its good that we have men that push us too……way to go Junkii! And Im excited for you all……enjoy the trip to wherever it is you are flying into (ok- Ill admit that Im sooooo not cultured!)…

Leave a Reply

