Mostly I don’t care about celebrity. I wouldn’t go out of my way to meet any of today’s Hollywood stars, or even to sight-see in their neighourhoods. There is one exception. I would love to meet Carol Burnett.

It’s been a dream of mine for years. Honestly, I have no idea what I’d say to her other than simply to tell her how awesome she is and how much she’s made me laugh over the years. But it’s still a dream. She seems so genuine.

I believe she was in Ottawa about 15 years ago, appearing at the National Arts Centre as part of a series of interviews with great women – but I’m not even sure she came. I sort of recall that series got canceled before her appearance. If I missed it, I’m sorry. How many more chances might I get to see her?

So needless to say I was very excited when she appeared on a recent episode of Glee as Sue Sylvester’s (Jane Lynch’s) mother. The two performed a duet of Ohio from the musical Wonderful Town – a song that Junkii didn’t care for, but that I’m in love with; especially given how great Burnett’s voice sounds. (I’m happy today because it’s been lodged in my brain all afternoon.)

I do hope the producers of Glee ask her back. The storyline didn’t feel finished, so she could certainly return for another episode. And maybe another song? I hope they find a way to have her sing the Ladies who Lunch. That would rock!

Leave a Reply

