I’ve read enough comic books and watched enough sci-fi to know that you rarely get to choose your own superpower. Even if you’re lucky enough to be get one, it’s usually the result of an accident (Yes, I consider mutations to be accidents) or a temporal anomaly and you have no say in the matter. You get what you get – whether that be the power to zip around at the speed of light, to crawl on walls, to erupt into flames, or to rage uncontrollably in a pair of shredded purple trousers.

That doesn’t make it any less fun to wish for superpowers, though. I used to think that, if I could design my own power, I would make it one that would let me go back in time to occupy an earlier self. So, for example, knowing what I know now, I could go back to a time when I was 16 and go to high school for a day – maybe make some different choices than I did when I was there the first time. Of course, I’d have terrible grades in math, since I’ve forgotten everything I used to know.

As with any time travel, however, this power would involve all the risks inherent in changing the timeline. So it would be pretty useless unless I had some sort of a “reset button” to make sure everything returned to the way it is now once I was finished mucking around. After all, I wouldn’t want to screw up my timeline in a way that meant never connecting with Junkii.

Sure, this power has little application in terms of crime fighting – so you’re not likely to see it in any comic books anytime soon – but it would be a blast to try out different scenarios from your own life.

No. In the end, if I only get one choice, I’ll choose a freeze-time power.

That’s a power I’ve had my eye on for many years, having seen an episode of the Twilight Zone as a teenager that featured it. Of course, being a horny young teen, my thoughts flew to how I could use that power to see people naked (among other things), but now, with age and wisdom on my side, I see a more practical use: spare time!

My days are filled with work and by the time I get chores done in the evenings and weekends, it’s time for bed. I could use this power to find time to play video games or to learn a new Adobe program – or just to reduce my PVR guilt.

I’d just have more down time.

Of course, it wouldn’t hurt that I could steal a bit of money from a bank to help me eliminate my debt too. I suppose that would make it an “evil superpower.” But you know what? I’d be okay with that.

Bring on the temporal anomaly!

4 responses »

  1. Hehe, I like this line: “rage uncontrollably in a pair of shredded purple trousers”

    I’ve never come to any conclusions of what super power I would choose, given the choice. Steve thinks it would be talking to animals (mine, not his…his would be talking to computers), and that would be pretty sweet. But I’m still holding out for better.

  2. Maria says:

    I’ve thought about this far more than I probably should and my conclusions often differ depending on the day. That said, I would really love to have the power to make sure that karma catches up with those who truly deserve it (positively and negatively).

    I don’t mean that I want to be the one passing judgment and meeting out the karma, I would just like to be able to ensure it is allocated to those who deserve it. I will have to devote further thought and consideration to precisely how this might work in practice.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I would LOVE to be the one doling out the just desserts. Guess that would screw my Karma up though. Well, at least I could make sure Dubya gets what’s coming to him.

Leave a Reply

