I’ve tried twice before to read One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. It’s one of those must-read books that’s always on everyone’s “best fiction of all time” lists. So I figure I owe it to myself to read it.

I don’t think I’ve ever gotten beyond the first 100 pages (of solitude?).

But every few years I forget just how little I enjoyed my last attempt – and I assume (rightly or wrongly) that I’ve changed enough as a person that I might actually enjoy it now – and I set about trying again.

Well, I’ve been in a good frame of mind lately for books, and now’s as good a time as any to give it another try – my third. I’ll let you know how it goes, assuming of course that I can find my copy.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve never even attempted to read it! Definitely keep us posted on how it goes.

  2. […] Who knows… like I said, I’m a slow reader. I’ve read long books before, but I’m not sure a 2000-page Russian novel is gonna be up my alley. Never know unless you try, though, right? Besides, it can’t be worse than 100 years of solitude. […]

Leave a Reply

