Gah! I’m not pleased. Ever since my friend mentioned it on Facebook yesterday, I’ve been stuck with the song I’ve got a Lovely Bunch of Coconuts in my head.

I shouldn’t even know this song, by all rights – it was written in 1944, well before my time, and it’s not exactly the greatest piece of music ever set down. But it has a habit of cropping up in pop culture, which keeps it on my radar:

  • The first time I heard it was in The Ronnie And Nancy Show – a Spitting Image special that aired in 1988 and that my friends at the time thought was just about the funniest thing ever (even though it was very political in nature and none of us knew who many of the caricatures even were. Caspar Weinberger?!)
  • Next I heard a parody of the song in the short-lived John Lovitz series The Critic – which featured a Dudley Moore character dressed as the alcoholic Arthur singing “I’ve got a liver the size of coconuts.”
  • And lastly, of course, there was Zazu (Rowan Atkinson) singing a snippet of it in the Lion King.

And that last list item states my problem. I’ve really only ever heard snippets of the song – so I don’t know the whole thing and now I can only sing about four lines of it before I have to start again.

This is the worst type of earworm.

4 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    Never heard of it in me life……but it is funny

Leave a Reply

