I haven’t been to a high school musical since my senior year at RHS (seriously? They have a website?) – go Royals! I did see a high school theatre production in the mid-‘90s – when my friend’s sister starred in some play whose name I can’t remember – but it wasn’t a musical.

There’s no good reason why we haven’t tried seeing more high school productions – we both love musicals and there are few enough opportunities to see professional productions in Ottawa. Plus amateur productions are usually inexpensive. Yes, the acting can be sub-par, but sometimes, if you’re lucky, you’re treated to some real talent.

This Saturday, we’re gonna try our luck. A gang of us are going to see Little Shop of Horrors. One of our friends, a teacher at the school that’s putting it on, is also the choreographer for this production. She has encouraged us to check it out, and I for one couldn’t be happier.

LSOH is not a play I’m familiar with. I don’t know the music or even the plot – so I’m excited to see it. It’s always good to add to my Broadway database. Yes, it could be a total wash, and it’s totally possible that I just flat out won’t like the play. But come on…it’s a musical! I love musicals!

I do know one song from LSOH: Suddenly Seymour. I first heard it when I was combing YouTube for funny lip sync videos about 5 years ago. Since then, the song has become one of my favorite Broadway numbers. Aside from the fact that it looks like he was nearly interrupted mid-way through his performance, this video is pretty entertaining. This guy is a real ham (and it doesn’t hurt that he’s cute). Hope they do this song justice on Saturday night!

Leave a Reply

