When someone says “surprise party” what’s the first thing that comes to mind? I’ll bet it’s a bunch of people hiding in a dark room waiting for the celebrant to come home, right? That’s the Hollywood standard, after all.

Well, that’s a lot of work. You have to get the birthday-boy (in this case) out of the house with a plausible reason and then have the guests all sneak back in behind him. My friends decided to make it a whole lot easier – although just as effective – by staging a sneak frontal attack.

I was expecting guests for our semi-regular Thursday evening viewing of So You Think You Can Dance Australia – but since my birthday was earlier in the week, I certainly wasn’t expecting cake and the accompanying fireball of candles that came crashing through the front door with my nutty but lovable friends! Seriously, I thought the house was burning down.

Junkii was in on the surprise too, and was prepared with his camera to snap a few photos. And after poses and hugs – and a few minutes scraping up splatters of melted wax off the hardwood – we sat down to discover a fabulous new flavor combination: DQ ice cream cake and leftover Cinnabons!

It was a very good night.

6 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    This is so cool though……and boy does ice cream cake and cinnebons sound yummy to me!

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I’m surprised how much I like Cinnabons. I’m not generally a fan of cinnamon flavoured desserts, but these have proven the exception. I think it’s the icing.

  2. Steve says:

    Awesome!

    A) That’s a pretty cool photo/image layout of the event.

    B) I think I recognize everyone in the photos. I especially like Jen in the top right photo (background) with both her hands in the air!

    Steve

  3. JD Adams says:

    Happy Birthday RoC(k)r!!! Cinnabon is a dangerous habit to have- the smell alone is enough to send me into a pavlovian conditioned drool. Your photos of cambodia are AMAZING.

    PS Hey Junkii- how goes?

Leave a Reply

