Can anyone tell my why one might place a plate of meat on a welcome mat outside someone’s front door?

I spied this strange sight (and took a quick cell-phone shot) outside a downtown Ottawa home last night on my way to dinner. There was no barbecue grill nearby. Did the homeowner set the plate down to open the door only to forget it there? Is the homeowner’s angry ex trying to attract stray dogs and rabid racoons to the house? Was this a modern-art comment on the recent Canada Post strike/lockout?!

Any thoughts, people? I’m at a loss.

5 responses »

  1. That’s a big hunk of meat!! Could be a statement of wealth: “I’m so rich, I buy giant steaks and leave them on my doorstep for fun.”

  2. Yeah, I figured the crumbling doorstep probably didn’t belong to someone with money to throw away. Sacrifice to their personal god?

  3. jandjsmum says:

    I didn’t have anything good to say here….so I didn’t comment yesterday…..but I am very curious….maybe its just “art”. They are perched in the window taking pictures of all the odd looks they are getting at their “art”…..hey- I’ve seen crazier shit in museums!

    • RoC(k)r says:

      I like the idea that someone was inside taking a photo of me while I was taking a photo of the meat. Some sort of statement on “hunting” with a camera and “bait”

Leave a Reply

