As a teenager, I was a huge fan of comic books. Most of my allowance money went to buying new issues and, when I could afford them, collectibles. Every weekend, you could find me at Wilkie’s Wonderful World in Moncton.

I still have about six boxes of the things sitting in storage in our loft. I’m sure most of them are worth little or nothing, but for me it was never really about making money. I just really enjoyed the combination of art and story.

Wish I could draw like that.

When I went off to university, I continued my collecting for a while I had my comic book guy ship a monthly package to me in Ottawa with all my favorites, and I would spend the next week reading, to the detriment of my studies. [interesting side note: You know the comic book guy from the Simpsons? Yeah, my comic book guy in Moncton literally looked like a real-life version of that.]

So what happened? Life got busy, and I ran out of disposable income for comics, and so that interest fell by the wayside. Well, not the interest; the means to indulge it. The interest was still there.

I did meet a few people over the last 20 years – Jeff P., Andrew M., Liz K., Krista C. – who shared my interest, and I was even able to bum back issues off of them and expand the scope of what I was reading. But it wasn’t enough. Not by a long shot.

And then I got an iPad and all was right with the world.

Overstating it? Perhaps, but the iPad really is an ideal platform for comics. It’s got great colour and resolution, it lets me carry around entire series of comics, I don’t have to worry about storing stacks of books, and my hands stay clean!

Yeah, iPad has lots of other functionality, but after only a month in my possession, I’m finding that I use it mostly for reading comic books and novels. I’ve finally started to make a dent in some of the titles I’ve been lusting after for years, like The Sandman (I’m only 20 years late). I’m also progressing on Y the Last Man and, best of all, The Walking Dead – which is waaaay better than the AMC television series (although I like that too).

I’m so happy to have a portal back into comicdom. Now I just need to catch up on what’s current and good. Better start checking out comic book blogs.

2 responses »

  1. Roger says:

    Jim didn’t look exactly like comic book guy from the simpsons, but quite similar! Great guy too, I used to buy from Wilkies in Moncton monthly till I’m guessing Jim sold the store to some new guy who was a total jerk to me over a C.O.D. order I had with them…his loss though as I used to spend $200-300 a month C.O.D. there. Last I saw the shop was gone a few years back unless it relocated.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      No, I think it’s gone altogether. Lately I’ve been spending my comic-reading time on the new 52, but I think I’m gonna pack it in on those and try to find some stuff from vertigo that’s worth reading. Thanks for the comment. Nice to meet someone else who remembers Jim!

Leave a Reply

