I don’t know if it’s true of all offices, but I’ve noticed a trend where I work: Emails are rampant on Tuesdays.

On Mondays, people trickle back to the office after a relaxing weekend, maybe chat a bit with colleagues, and set about organizing their week’s to-do list. People mostly keep to themselves. By Tuesday, though, the emails start to fly.

My theory is that, once people have set their goals for the week – have seen the mound of work they need to accomplish before Friday – they get antsy. They start trying to devise ways to pass along one of their tasks – ANYthing – to a co-worker, just so they can lighten the load…even if it’s only temporary. And since you can send an email without actually confronting your colleague, it’s a quick and painless way to sweep a few things off your desk.

How else to explain it?

Obviously it’s not such a problem in summer, with many people on holidays, but the rest of the year… hoo boy! Tuesdays are deadly around here.

I realize many of my friends don’t even work in an office environment. But of those who do, have any of you experienced this phenomenon, or is it entirely localized?

2 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    My Tuesday suck- they are my busiest day by far- meetings from 8am until 11am every Tuesday……non stop- then I deal with emails after that…..for sure I dont like Tuesdays….I like your theory too…..I never really thought about why Tuesdays were so bad……thanks for a new perspective

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Technically you don’t work in an office, but you still face an office dynamic when it comes to email. In fact, because of how far away your co-workers are, you probably get targeted even more! They NEVER have to deal with you face-to-face and so never have to feel guilty about the work they give you.

Leave a Reply

