I’d make a great retiree. With all that extra time, I know exactly what I’d do: learn. There’s no end to the topics I’d like to spend time studying, but there are a few standouts.

Language
Before heading off to Costa Rica in 2009, I had spent a few months listening to Spanish audio lessons – taking advantage of my daily 30-minute commute. I was starting to make good progress, too. And then I stopped. I think I’ll go back and start the lessons again. I have three discs worth of material and only got through one!

If I can get through those discs, then I might look into taking some classes. It would just be such a useful skill to have, given how much Junkii and I love to travel and how much of the world speaks Spanish – especially so much of the warm-weather world. Beaches of Latin America, anyone?

I’d also like to get back to trying to learn Cantonese, but I think those plans will need to stay on the back-burner for now. Spanish is much easier, and one of us already speaks Cantonese.

Software
If I were retired, I wouldn’t actually need this, but right now, learning a couple of pieces of software would really help pad my communications resumé. I’m already comfortable with Photoshop, InDesign, and PremierePro, but developing proficiency with Adobe illustrator is a huge hurdle I do intend to overcome soon. It will go a long way towards bolstering my design skills and would be a big bonus to any future employer.

I’d also like to learn more about Lightroom (fer makin’ pitchures look purdy) and sound booth (to make certain sound quality is as good as can be when cutting together short promo videos.)

Thankfully, I have access to Lynda.com and all their thousands of software training videos – which has proven to be a good way for me to learn in the past. Now I just need to commit to doing a lesson every evening. Maybe once the snow flies…

Music
Since quitting piano lessons a few years ago, I’ve gone through periods of wanting to play every day and periods of not wanting to touch the 88-keyed beast sitting in the living room. Unfortunately, it’s a lot easier to lose the skills than to gain them back. More unfortunately, I have neither the spare time (for practice) nor the money (for lessons) that result in progress. So my skills continue to falter.

I also have a violin. I took lessons when I was a kid, but it might be fun to try a different instrument for a change.

Art
I’ve always been in awe of people who can draw and paint. Wish I could. Particularly wish I could draw comics. I’ve never considered taking lessons, but It has been on my mind more and more of late. I might look into whether anyone offers a beginners course through the City of Ottawa. I think I’d have a blast. I know Junkii is interested in Dance lessons, but I might suggest he do that while I learn more about art (pronounced “ahhht”). After all, if I learn Adobe Illustrator, I’m gonna need to know how to draw first.

Hmmm. I hope I can get to a least a few of these things before I turn 65.

6 responses »

  1. I also have a violin kicking around that I always think of learning to play again. I used to take lessons at the Folklore centre, which is now within walking distance of me. Very tempting!

    “Ahht” is another area I’d love to develop more skills in (that’s an awkward sentence but I’m too lazy to fix it). Your cool factor would raise significantly if you drew comics.

  2. Agreed. Lots to learn and so little time. Lynda.com is great but even committing to finish a full course seems tough! If you need help with Lightroom, that I can help you with! I’m trying to get my photo re-touching proficiency in Photoshop improved – that may take a lifetime as there’s so many techniques.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Junkii knows lightroom quite well too. I do find structured courses like those offered through Lynda to be quite useful for me. I learn more quickly than just by sitting and doing.

  3. jandjsmum says:

    I discovered buketlist.org the other day…..I created my bucket list out there….you might consider adding some of these? Here is mine if you want to check it out:

    http://bucketlist.org/list/jandjsmum/

    • RoC(k)r says:

      That’s an interesting site. Now you need to start moving your items into the done column :). We’re thinking of heading to Panama in February for about 10 days this winter. If we go, we won’t cruise the canal, but we’ll definitely see it.

Leave a Reply

