A few months ago, as a diet aid, I started chewing gum. I figured that, when the mid-morning tummy-grumbles started, it would be better for me to pick up a piece of gum than a bag of chips. Likewise, rather than enjoy something sweet for dessert after lunch, keeping my mouth occupied with a stick of Wrigley’s takes the craving away.

It does work. As long as I get a gum with long-lasting flavor – I love the Wrigley 5 flavour called Cobalt, but only because we don’t have Orbit here in Canada – I can chew for at least an hour, and it just keeps my mind on my work and out of the refrigerator.

I even asked the dentist about it on my last visit and he said that, as long as I’m not experiencing any jaw pain as a result, then go for it. It promotes saliva production, which is good for keeping the teeth clean.

The only downside I can see is that gum chewing is just plain ugly. I spend most of my office hours at my computer with no company, so it’s generally not an issue. But I’m keenly aware of my habit any time someone comes to see me.

Assuming a short social visit, I might tuck the gum between my teeth and cheek, so that I don’t lose it. But for longer meetings I’ll just spit it out rather than subject my colleague to the sight of me chewing like a cow.

Still, better look like a cow in the short term than feel like a pig because I can’t control my appetite.

Any other gum-chewers out there?

 

4 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    I cannot chew for more than 10 minutes without swallowing gum. I have tried and tired and I just cannot keep it in my mouth. So I give up. I also have a gum tree in my tummy.

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Why?! Do you like the way gum tastes that much or is it an unconscious action. I have a very tough time swallowing gum. I’ll do it if I can’t find a trash can, but ONLY if I can’t find a trashcan.

  2. Krista says:

    I do! It’s a great way to stave off cravings but I usually chew it more to freshen up my mouth in the car after a tea/coffee or something else that leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I’m partial to cinnamon flavoured gums, but I know that’s not your thing 🙂

    • RoC(k)r says:

      blech cinnamon gum. 🙂
      Actually, I used to love cinnamon gum, but I “burned” my tongue on it once too often and now I’m kind of put off it. I’ll still chew it, but I won’t buy it.

Leave a Reply

