I’m all excited. I’m heading out to see a production of Mamma Mia at the National Arts Centre tonight…with my Momma! In fact, we’re gonna make an evening of it – enjoying a nice relaxing pre-show dinner at the NAC’s Le Café restaurant before heading up to see the show.

I’m thrilled. I’ve never seen the stage show – just the film version. I trust there will be no Pierce Brosnan at the NAC tonight to ruin the singing bits.

I’m also kind of excited about another opportunity to see a stage musical – this one not quite so slick. A high school in Kanata is putting on a production of Xanadu next week and I might just go. I’ve never seen the film – I’m sure it’s just as bad as everyone says – but the soundtrack to the film was one of the best things to come out of the ’80s. And knowing that the musical recognizes the cheeziness of the source material (even pokes fun at it) means this might be a really fun production – even if it is amateurish. Hey! at least it’ll be cheap.

One response »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    I would SOOOOO go to Xanadu with you…..LOVE the music in that thing……enjoy tonight!

Leave a Reply

