Case Review by Junkii

I’ve never been a big fan of those bulky iPhone cases. When I bought my first iPhone a couple of years ago, I decided to look around for something different. I came across Vaja, an Argentine company that makes leather cases for all sorts of gadgets. I love their designs; simple and elegant. Back then, I opted for a case from a local retailer instead because the Vaja cases were 2-3x more expensive and required about 25 days to custom make the order.

Two years later, I have a new phone, and I’m in the market for a new leather case. I grew tired of my old one, and more importantly it’s too big for the iPhone 4S. On the first day with my new phone, I nearly dropped it on the ground because the old case was so loose!

So, after looking around, I finally bit the bullet and ordered a Vaja case online.

The customization was a breeze. I selected the style of case, chose the colour and type of leather I wanted, and finally decided on an accent colour. Registration for the checkout was optional. The order confirmation stated it would take 25 days to ship. Vaja promised to send me a FedEx tracking number once they had shipped.

I chose the Retro Slim Bag case. It’s priced at US$55 + $23 Shipping (US$78.00). I waited patiently for the tracking number, but it never came. Instead, 10 days after I placed my order, I came home to a FedEx package in my mailbox!

The packaging itself is beautifully designed. There’s a sleeve with cut-outs for the colourful box. The iPhone case sits loosely inside the box.

Vaja delivered on its promises. The quality of the craftsmanship is obvious. The cowhide leather is smooth and soft. There are no lose stitches; no frays on the trim, and certainly no mars or scratches. The embossed silver Vaja logo adds a touch of class. The Retro Slim Bag case is so thin it adds very little bulk to the phone. It’s definitely one of the slimmest cases I’ve found – and yet the inside of the sleeve is still lined with a soft protective fabric that keeps the front and back of the iPhone clean.

The phone sits snugly in the case; no more worries about dropped phones.

This case isn’t for everyone. Many people would probably think it too simple: it offers no hole for the camera, and no opening for the jack at the bottom of the phone. It reveals only the edge of the phone – just enough to toggle the silent/ring switch.

I’ve looked at other cases that offer camera and connector cut-outs, but I’ve always found these designs detract from the simplicity and elegance I like.

If you can’t tell already, I’m very happy I made the purchase. Here are some photos of the Vaja Retro Slim Bag for iPhone 4/4S.

Leave a Reply

