My personal take on Adele is that she has a fantastic voice (no doubt!) and that she generally sings in a style I like – that soulful kind of ‘60s Motown vibe. And yet, I’m not a big fan. I don’t know if it’s just because her melodies just don’t quite grab me or what, but I feel that I should like her music more than I actually do.

That’s not to say I dislike her. She’s got some great songs. I love Hometown Glory, and even Rolling in the Deep was good before it got waaaaaaaay overplayed (there aren’t enough aaaa’s on the keyboard to accurately describe how waaaay overplayed that song was).

For three or four days in a row, I’ve caught myself singing Set Fire to the Rain. Not sure why this is happening now – Junkii played the crap outta that tune a few months ago, but for whatever reason, only now has it burrowed into my brain. And multi-day earworms like this are hard to shake. I might have to go listen to In the Heights to see if I can dislodge it.

2 responses »

  1. jandjsmum says:

    I feel the same as you about her- not sure why- but I have to say that after hearing the mashup from glee of Rumour Has It/Someone Like You, I couldn’t get that one out of my head for weeks……the glee version of course…….

    • RoC(k)r says:

      Glee does some pretty good covers and mash-ups and, while I don’t always like the singers (Finn and Kurt both drive me nuts) the arrangements are usually pretty good. I wish Artie would sing more.

Leave a Reply

